NHBPM- Day 24

“If I had unlimited funds”

This is a post for dreamers. Which I am. I frequently like to day dream about various scenarios.

I blame it on all the reading I’ve done since I learned how to read almost 21 years ago (yes, I was reading at the age of three).

I do so much reading that my Secret Santa gifter at work gave me two novels and I LITERALLY squealed with joy. I’m pretty sure no one else I work with would have been as happy to receive books as their gift. I’m a bookworm. I own it.

Anyway, if I had unlimited funds I would be reeeaallllyyyy stress-free. In a previous NHBPM post, I talked about the importance of mental health and de-stressing. I’ll be honest and say that money is a huge stressor for me (and probably most people). I don’t make a ton of money a year, I live alone, I like to eat well (and that means spending a bit more money on quality) and I have the added cost of my medicine.

In case you weren’t aware, insulin is expensive!

So is Synthroid. $30 a month, which might not seem like a lot until you realize you feel like you are constantly in the pharmacy handing over your credit card to pay for medicine.

Luckily I have insurance. Without insurance, I’d have to pay even more for my Synthroid, hundreds more for my insulin and thousands for test strips (which come out to roughly $1 a strip… I test about 5-8 times a day, so that’s $8 a day).

I will ALWAYS have to have a job with insurance coverage. Goodbye freelance dreams.

I will always have to worry about money in a way that a lot of people don’t understand. Sure, I rely on money like everyone else does for my basic needs. But my basic needs extend even further, and that costs a lot.

So, with unlimited funds, I wouldn’t necessarily do anything different. I would still work. I might buy more clothes and live in a fancier place (why not?!) More importantly, I wouldn’t have to stress about my health. I wouldn’t have to constantly worry about paying for all of my medicine. I wouldn’t have to employ my defense mechanism (joking) every time I go into the pharmacy and fork over money in exchange for medicine for two diseases I wish I didn’t have.

“Too many people spend money they earned..to buy things they don’t want..to impress people that they don’t like.”

2 thoughts on “NHBPM- Day 24

Leave a Reply

