Life Lately

… has consisted of a lot of late nights, social gatherings and fun. Dinners with friends, dancing in clubs, hanging out at house parties, and just generally staying busy and social. I’ve met a ton of new, interesting people, explored great new places in DC and ended up in places I never thought I would go. The most important part of all this is that I’m having fun. I’m back on track with what I want to be doing at my age in this city.

One of the most common lines I heard from A right before we broke up for good was that I “didn’t really want to be in a relationship” and that I “just wanted to have fun and go out and party.” I vehemently denied those accusations every time, but I shouldn’t have because who doesn’t want to have fun? It wasn’t that I didn’t want to be in a relationship. It’s that, the relationship wasn’t fun anymore. We weren’t going out and experiencing new things together. A was very right when he told me all I wanted to do was have fun. I spent a year of my life not exploring DC and taking advantage of the diverse nightlife, the great food spots and the general coolness of being in the nation’s capital. So, I’m just trying to play catch up now.

The past month or so has been full of these ups and there have been very few downs. My mood has changed so considerably that my friends and co-workers have both noticed. I’m doing things on my own terms. I’ve become way more independent, because that’s what happens when you are single and live by yourself (hello, I fixed a garbage disposal the other week!). I’m running almost every day, eating whatever I want (that includes a lot of tofu) and I don’t have to buy toilet paper nearly as much as I used to. My life just feels a lot more in balance and that’s something I am so appreciative of. I didn’t realize just how out of balance my life actually was and I hate that I let it get to that point.

So, that’s life lately. It’s pretty damn good. I’m planning on finding a place to live in DC within the next few months. I’m heading to Miami soon to visit a friend and lounge on the beach while soaking up the sun and the sights (Cuban men?). I’ve got bridesmaid stuff coming up for my best friend’s wedding. My favorite season is just around the corner (hello pumpkin everything, leggings & boots, bonfires and chilly weather). I’ve got a whole bookshelf of books from the library ready to be read and a filled Netflix queue (because I can’t go out every night!). My social calender is full with both work and fun commitments and that’s exactly how I want it to be right now.

“Our doubts are traitors and makes us lose the good we oft might win, by fearing to attempt.” William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

