Like, whoah!

Ok guys. I did something yesterday for the first time in about a month. Are you ready?

I went for a run!

Cool, Liz. What’s the big deal?

The big deal is that for about two months, I seriously got into running. I couldn’t go a day without pounding out a mile, and if I did, I felt super guilty. I won’t classify myself as a runner. I was only up to two mile runs before I stopped, but I didn’t care. See, I’ve never liked running. I’ve never willingly run, so the fact that I had gotten into the habit of adding running to my routine was amazing. Yoga, weights, walking, all yes, yes, yes. Running was always a big NO.

I stopped running around the time I had a lot of crap hit the fan. They say when you’re depressed, have low self-esteem and are generally feeling down, exercise helps bring a person back up. I have to say that I was at that point of being really low and exercise was the LAST thing I wanted to do. The thought of putting on workout clothes and exerting all of that energy into a run when I was already feeling so drained just drained me even more.

Yesterday was really no exception to any other day this month. The only difference is that I was all of a sudden determined to get back to my old self, get my confidence back and start feeling happy every day all day again. So, without even thinking twice about it, I changed out of my work clothes, put on my tennis shoes (which haven’t been touched in a while), got in my car and went to the track. I walked a mile and ran a mile, with a few lunges and squats interspersed throughout. It wasn’t an extremely hard workout but it felt great and I’ve definitely been missing it.

I won’t say I’m a changed person today. I’m certainly not back to my old self, but I’m one step closer, especially if I keep this up. And that’s all I really want. To get back to the person I was so I can live the life I want to live.

2 thoughts on “Like, whoah!

  1. Just stumbled across your blog.. I am hooked! I’ve always wanted to start running, but what scares me most about it is when people look at me all sweaty and yucky haha.

    • Hey Jeremy! Thanks for your nice comment! Glad you like my little piece of the internet 🙂 Believe me, I’m the least attractive person when running unless people are into extremely red faces, glazed over eyes and a general disheveled appearance. But who cares! Run because it makes you feel good. You should definitely start! You’ll be hooked!

Leave a Reply

