One Does Not Forget To Take Insulin Overnight

Unless you are me…

Ok, everyone is going to have to forgive the spotty blogging. This week has seriously been INSANE! I swear I’ve been on the go, go, go!

This past weekend I did birthday celebrations with my family, starting on Saturday night at Olives, a really nice Italian restaurant in Frederick, Maryland! The food was absolutely amazing with options like goat cheese stuffed chicken rolls, homemade lasagna and lamb meatballs.

Now, I was a bit anxious before heading to the restaurant with my family because I’ve pretty much cut out pasta from my diet. It’s just so carb heavy and I really can’t justify eating it, so I don’t. While I’ve managed to do well at home, it gets a bit tricky when over half of the menu at an Italian restaurant is a pasta dish.

Go figure.

On top of that, this girl forgot to take her morning insulin in the morning and didn’t remember until noon!

If you remember, I’m still honeymooning so I only need to take basal insulin (Lantus) in the morning (15u) and 4mg of Amaryl. But that insulin is crucial in helping me control my numbers.

As I later found out when I got a reading well into the 200s. Before I decided to really beat myself up over it, I reasoned with myself that I was out of my routine (slept at my parents house the night before and woke up much later than usual) and that it would come down if I just watched what I ate for the rest of the day.

And with that I skipped lunch, focusing on the 6pm dinner reservations.

By the time we got to the restaurant, my blood sugar was at a nice and cozy 113.

Still, there were all of those pesky pasta dishes with things like chicken parmigiana, creamy sauces and lots of cheese sitting on top.

After feeling pretty crappy about my health all day, I opted for a a pear and walnut salad and a big bowl of mussels and clams in a nice tomato sauce.

Which left me to consume my carbs in the form of birthday cake!

Sunday morning, my parents, brother and I went to one of my favorite spots in Baltimore City. We were the first ones in for brunch at 11am (the early bird gets the worm!) and it was so much better than I remembered (we went there for brunch last year on my  birthday as well!).

The buffet included waffles, French toast, sausage, cheesy eggs, everything eggs, bacon, baked salmon with couscous, chicken, pasta salad with steak slivers, steak, shrimp, smoked salmon (with an amazing aioli on top), potato salad with gorgonzola cheese, bagels, peach cobbler, salad (both green and fruit) and cupcakes. Also, unlimited mimosas (of which I partook in minus the OJ).

I filled up two plates of yummy food, despite being stuffed after my first plate. I filled up on my usual eats of the baked salmon, smoked salmon, half a bagel with cream cheese, a big helping of salad, shrimp and a tiny scoop of the potato salad.

My second dish consisted of more smoked salmon atop another half a bagel with cream cheese, fruit, a bite of eggs, some more gorgonzola potato salad and a small helping of the peach cobbler.

I was STUFFED! But when my mom suggested we try one of the cupcakes, I couldn’t resist. Even though we had a whole cheesecake with a decadent chocolate ganache waiting at home…

So, I went with my dad to pick out a total of three cupcakes: red velvet, vanilla with amaretto and a dark fudgy chocolate toffee.

My brother got two just for himself: dark chocolate marshmallow and the dark fudgy chocolate toffee.

After consuming two days worth of sugar, our server brought out a hot brownie fudge sundae with a birthday candle! (I just kept thinking, “NO MORE DESSERT, BUT I LOVE CHOCOLATE!”)

He sang me a little happy birthday song and left me to try and control myself from sticking my whole face into the delicious, warm, gooey brownie and rich vanilla ice cream.

Luckily, I had some helping mouths to eat their share of the sundae, so I wasn’t left with the burden of eating it all myself.

The horrors!!

Honestly, the only thing that kept me from eating the whole thing was this little thing called diabetes that seems to follow me wherever I go.

It’s like the pesky ex-boyfriend who won’t go away.

Except he usually does go away after you yell at him enough times that you don’t ever want to talk to him again.

I tried doing that with diabetes. It just resulted in a red face and high blood pressure.

Anyway, after I rolled out of the restaurant I took a nice little nap on my parent’s couch before packing my birthday presents up for the ride back to my house.

Of course, I couldn’t leave without having my parents sing to me one last time as I blew out three candles on my ginormous cheesecake. Why three you ask? 23 would have been too much. Plus, three is just a really good number. Very zen.

Then we all ate the tiniest pieces of cheesecake and I was sent home with half to be consumed in reasonable amounts per day.

I love birthdays. And chocolate.

2 thoughts on “One Does Not Forget To Take Insulin Overnight

  1. First, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Sounds like you had a great meal out! Your description of everything made my mouth water, and I think I’m going to have to go get some pasta and dessert later on! Oh, and don’t worry about forgetting to take your insulin – it happens. When I took a pump hiatus last year, that happened a few times when I couldn’t remember if I’d dosed my Lantus or not. But those higher BG numbers always let us know, don’t they? Best your way!

    • Thanks for commenting!! I just started reading your blog! Great stuff! And yep, gotta love those high numbers…and low ones too (which seem to be a frequent occurrence this week). Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

