Friday Ramblings

What’s up blog world? It’s been a busy, hectic week but today is FRIDAY! So, can’t really complain about that. Especially since it’s also the start of my birthday week (yes, I have a week!)

My birthday is actually on Monday, but I’m doing a bunch of birthday stuff this weekend with my family including dinner with my whole family Saturday night at Olives in Frederick, Maryland. I’ve never been, but as long as there is wine, I’m good to go! That dinner is actually more for my Grandma’s birthday, which is on Sunday, but I’ll be celebrating too!

Then, Sunday morning is brunch with my parents and brother at one of my favorite spots in Baltimore called Crush. They have the most amazing crushes (grapefruit, orange, pineapple) and the best sushi salad. One of the hardest parts about living in Northern Virginia is not being able to go to all of my favorite spots in Baltimore. The city really does have a unique vibe and a lot of amazing spots. Crush has a really airy, modern feel to it with intimate seating and lots of ambient lighting. I’m a little bummed though because I haven’t been since I was diagnosed with diabetes and I probably won’t be partaking in one of their famous crushes. I just can’t do the juice…

I think some champagne will be in order. It’s not everyday that it will be the day before my 23rd birthday.

For a surprisingly busy weekend, I have nothing planned on my actual birthday. How lame. I may be going to a Korean spa with my best friend later in the day, but that’s still undecided.

Then it’s Valentine’s Day. I’m sure everyone is so psyched about that… A will most likely have to work, so I’m thinking about just baking some yummy treats and watching a movie.

Then, next weekend will be more birthday celebrations with all of my friends! Lots of laughing, story- telling and wine drinking will occur. And that’s all I want for my birthday!

So, in life news…

I’m moving! I found a cute little apartment that is being rented out by the owners. It’s behind their single family house, so it’s attached in some way, but separate. I have my own parking spot (under a covered car port!), my own entrance, my own everything! It’s all hard wood floors, full-sized kitchen (with an oven… one of my few requirements!), huge living room, decent sized bedroom and big bathroom.

I’ll be sad to leave my roommates and my little adopted children, but I’m excited to move on to the next phase of my life. I debated living with or without roommates, but after lots of conversations with my friends, I decided that living alone might be best. Especially since my potential roommates would be strangers from Craigslist, and while that worked out for me the first time, it might not be so nice the second.

I went to the endocrinologist this morning for my usual three month check. My feet are beautiful, my blood pressure is normal and my a1C is down! 7.6 to 5.4.

5.4!

I couldn’t believe it when she said it. Well, I could actually. I’m still honeymooning along, so my blood sugar has been pretty stable and easy to control with my medicine, diet and exercise. Still, good news!

However, my thyroid medicine had to be increased. Maybe that’s why I’ve been feeling so sluggish lately?

Anyway, my body is just doing its thing… not fully functioning but doing good.

More news… my hair is no longer orange. If you read my last post, you know that I had a bad experience with some hair dye on Monday night. I went to a salon and got it fixed. Took a good two hours of sitting in the chair, but I came out with pretty blonde hair (a bit blonder than I would have liked) and only a tint of orange in some places.

And, I just want to give a shout-out to my boyfriend. He’s been so supportive and encouraging, especially these past few weeks as we both rode the stress roller coaster. We might be “running against the wind” but “we’re together like two hands of a prayer.” You’re the best!

Now, to get through the work day without going crazy! My parents have enticed me with movies and sushi to come to their house tonight and avoid bad weather (apparently snow is coming- I’ll believe it when I see it) as opposed to tomorrow. Argh… I wish I had a private jet. Then I would never have to face the nightmare that is the Baltimore-Washington corridor.

But I want sushi. Good thing I have no problem facing nightmares.

Hope everyone has a great Friday and an even better weekend! 

Leave a Reply

