Inspiration

I’ve been feeling kind of blah this past week. It all started one early morning when I woke up tortured with thoughts about the rest of my life. The fact is, I’m not at a job that relates to anything I went to school for.

I’m not even sure if I want a job in the field I went to school for.

I’m 22 years old living in suburbia and every time I just want to go to a hole in the wall bar in a cooler location, I have to drive a half hour. My commute to work is long  and I constantly think about how the large amount of money I spend on gas could be spent on the numerous endocrinologist appointments, diabetes supplies and student loans that seem to suck all the extra money I have out of me.

It’s not that I’m poor or struggling to survive. But I think everyone would say they could use a bit more money. Some more cushioning. A nice, padded bank account. I could save a lot more if I didn’t live so far from work. And I’d be a lot happier, emotionally, if I lived closer to D.C./Arlington and further from suburbia/almost the sticks Virginia.

I’ve spent my entire life living closer to a city than I do now. And quite honestly, the chain restaurants, which are pretty much my only option where I live, are stifling. And the creepy guys who hang out at Jackson’s are unnecessary. C’mon! You’re 50 years old hitting on a 22 year old…

Anyway, I need culture. I need diversity. I need dive bars. I need kitschy. I need pizza at 3 in the morning. I need the Metro to not be a 20 minute drive away from my house. And I need to never have to drive through Tyson’s Corner during rush hour again!

Mostly I just need to be closer to work. I think that will alleviate this stress that has been hanging over my head all week long.

As far as the job thing… not so easy. But, I’ve got one for now and that’s all that matters.

So, in case you are stressed out, angry, tired, sad or whatever other emotion you want to insert into this sentence, here are some inspirational pictures. A little pick me up. They at least picked me up:

Leave a Reply

